An Open Letter to White Evangelicals in the United States (Get Vaccinated Otherwise I Propose That Your Death From COVID-19 Should Not be Mourned)

This is an open letter to white evangelicals in the United States. It’s time for you to get vaccinated. If you are a Christian prove yourself. Otherwise, if you refuse vaccination, and contract COVID-19 this blog would suggest that you should not be mourned in death. One aspect to your foolishness is that you have proved the Charles Darwin is right.

“Communication leads to community, that is, to understanding, intimacy and mutual valuing.”

Rollo May

Now concerning brotherly love you have no need for anyone to write to you, for you yourselves have been taught by God to love one another, 10 for that indeed is what you are doing to all the brothers throughout Macedonia. But we urge you, brothers, to do this more and more, 11 and to aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs, and to work with your hands, as we instructed you, 12 so that you may walk properly before outsiders and be dependent on no one.

1 Thessalonians 4:9-12 ESV

Jvacc-640x330

Dear American Evangelicals-

I am writing this letter to you from the Washington, D.C. area. In writing this note I also want to communicate that I have spent a good chunk of my life in other states as well. I know what it is like to spend more time in rural parts or smaller cities of California, Montana or Wisconsin. I’ve lived in different environments, so I write this to communicate that I have not always lived in the vicinity of such a city. ‘

I want to speak to you about getting vaccinated against COVID-19. The facts are clear, and the evidence is overwhelming. Newspapers and medical journals document and reveal that the majority of people who are dying today of COVID-19 are unvaccinated. Look at some of the following examples who support this claim. You can go to here, here, here and here. You talk about your faith in God and the importance of living a Biblical life. I know you well evangelicals as I spent nearly 17 years deeply involved in your ranks. I know how you think, feel and what is going through that little noodle upstairs. We are living through the worst medical crisis since the Spanish flu of 1918 and 1919. If you take the time to research the issue you will also learn that the deaths from COVID-19 have surpassed the fatality rate of the Spanish flu. And yet we live in different times. In 1919 they didn’t have a medical way to treat the flu. Whereas with COVID-19 we do. We have the vaccine that could save countless lives. In the 1950’s when polio was a problem many Americans and yes, many evangelical Christians got vaccinated. They did it for their neighbor. They did it for their community. They did it because they said they wanted to follow Jesus. The polio vaccine ended and helped contain a highly infectious disease. It was such a problem that it helped to cripple an American president who contracted polio when he was 39. What we did with polio we can also do with COVID-19. But its sacrifice and it takes believing in a cause greater than yourself. Today people are dying when they don’t have to. For myself that is what is so deeply upsetting. I think of the lives lost, orphans created and the families who are destroyed because they did not get vaccinated. This blog has written about that as well. You can read about that here, here and here. No child should grow up without a father or mother. It’s even more horrifying when this loss is happening due to disinformation, and it could have been prevented. So, I am asking you to please get vaccinated against COVID-19. Do it for your family. Do it for your community. Do it for the people you love and care about. Do it so that people like myself can think of you in a new light and be found wrong. 

But evangelicals I also have to tell you that I am tired. I am tired of this pandemic, and I am tired of your screaming about your rights and acting immature. Christianity grew in Europe during the plagues because they sacrificed and thought to their neighbor. They did not throw temper tantrums and pout. They did the right thing. Comparing and contrasting Christians in Europe during the plague and American evangelicals can be almost depressing. And it has led me to this thought, which you might find disturbing, but I have to say it. If this were the spring of 2020 or the fall of 2020 and I learned you got COVID I would feel awful, and I would wish you well. I would hope for your recovery and be supportive of you. Now if you got the vaccine and become ill in a breakthrough infection, I would be sympathetic and be pulling for you. But evangelicals I have to say, if you come down with COVID-19 and you are unvaccinated due to misinformation I am not going to care about you. If you are ill and go into the hospital and you are unvaccinated well, I am going to not be concerned. Evangelicals I am tired of hearing you whine and watching you act like little children. Recently I came to the conclusion that if you die of COVID and it’s because of your stupidity this blogger is not going to give a damn. My one request is take your disease laden churches with you so the neighborhood will improve. Maybe one irony is that if you are a Ken Ham follower who is anti-vaxx you will show us in the process that Charles Darwin is correct after all. What a way to make a statement! But I propose if you are an evangelical who refuses to get vaccinated and you contract COVID and die, I propose that you are not mourned. At this point I am inclined to ask if it is Americna evangelicalism that is killing people. And if this upsets you, I have this to say as well. Tough shit. You have had almost a year and your selfishness is hurting other people. Its your call. Get vaccinated and do the right thing or buy a cemetery plot and prepare for your likely death as an unvaccinated person. Your choice. 

Very Respectfully,

David Bonner

24 thoughts on “An Open Letter to White Evangelicals in the United States (Get Vaccinated Otherwise I Propose That Your Death From COVID-19 Should Not be Mourned)

  1. Wondering Eagle,

    I came to that conclusion almost a year ago. Of course, it was the death of Hermann Cain that was the first public demonstration that the Evangelicals (most of who are Trump leg-humpers) are a bunch of narcissistic selfish brats. If they didn’t give a shit about social distancing etc, what makes you think they would give a shit about vaccinations?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Gospel of Personal Salvation and ONLY Personal Salvation is as Selfish as anything from the typer of Ayn Rand.

      Why would they give a shit about anything in physical reality (including COVID)?
      “IT’S ALL GONNA BURN” and they have their Salvation ticket punched.

      Like

      • Don’t forget the results of the hippie “ME” generation (Boomers) who got in Evangelicalism courtesy of CC and the Jesus People Movement. Ever notice that many of the leaders of the these Evangelicals are Boomers (just like Trump)?

        In regards to Ayn Rand, I read some of her stuff, but she is to classical liberalism (and libertarianism) asmany of the so-called anti-vaxx medical experts on social media are to Jonas Salk. There is nothing more dangerous than a little bit of shallow knowledge or facts in the hands of a resourceful idiot.

        Like

      • CM, as far as I can trace 40+ years after-the-fact, that End-of-the-World Not-a-Cult that messed up my head in the Seventies was probably a first-generation descendant of the Jesus People movement. I distinctly remember Hollywood Free Papers being passed around and read. And since ALL the Christian Cult-Watch groups of the time defined Cult(TM) entirely in terms of Theology and Doctrine, groups like that routinely slipped under the radar. (Big help that the Christian Cult-Sniffers had the Exact Same Theology – YEC/AltarCall/Sinner’s Prayer/Rapture Ready Evangelical.)

        But Koinonia House Christian Fellowship declined and died some time after I broke contact. (Mid-Eighties I came across someone who not only recognized the name, but said several of its “Saints” had to be forcibly deprogammed.)

        Papa Chuck’s Calvary Chapel (another first-generation descendant) didn’t. Not only did CC survive but came to totally dominate local Evangelical Christianity in my area. To the point There Could Be NO Salvation Outside of Calvary Chapel, the Only Real True Christians. And CC has long illustrated ALL the ways Christianity can ferment and go sour.

        Like

  2. They did not throw temper tantrums and pout.

    Now they are being conformed to the image of their REAL God, Donald Trump.

    Like

    • Ken, you mentioned in the past that you were in “gifted” programs in school YET you say things like Trump is the Evangelical’s god yet Trump worshipers who refuse to get vaxxed are obviously rejecting the instructions of their god. If Evangelicals’ god/Trump is saying get vaxxed and they are saying NO; obviously they really aren’t very devout when it comes to worshiping Trump.

      Like

      • But, oh Marked One, Donald is like Cyrus, the Persian King who allowed the Israelites to rebuild Jerusalem. They don’t need to listen to a pagan who is really God’s Holy chump.

        Or was it Billy Ray Cyrus?

        “Don’t take that mark, that achy breaky mark, I just don’t think God understands.

        Cause if you take that mark, that achy breaky mark, I think you will be truly damned….”

        Oops, to late!

        Like

  3. So D.B. Do you think the Biden admin should mandate that all adults [ 18 and up ] must get vaccinated? I’m curious what you, a denizen of D.C., thinks about enforced vax mandates for all adults. Any religious exemptions?

    Like

      • Man, the devil totally made me wreck my sarcastic comment. Should have been “lost virginities”.

        Or maybe, triple six’s wisdom is protected by the almighty Donald Duck, I mean, Jesus.

        Like

      • Yep, darned odd for bunch so much into “go forth and multiply”.

        One would think “swinging” would be more en vogue.

        Hang ups about sex but pressure to have tons of babies. No wonder it’s so messed up. You have to “defile” yourself to serve the Lord.

        Oh yeah, doesn’t apply to guys. Only women can be defiled. Something to do with magical fruits and talking reptiles.

        Or Roy Fruits…

        When did christianity become so confusing?

        Like

    • As a fully vaxxed, very conservative evangelical who doesn’t care for Trump, I find your hyperbole unloving and inhuman. You have gone too far, very much like those you villify.

      Like

  4. Another question DB. Are you such a racist that only the death of white Evangelicals shouldn’t be mourned? How about Hispanic, or Asian or Black Evangelicals. If they are anti-vax, why should not their deaths also not be mourned?

    Like

    • Now, Triple-6, don’t get your leiderhosen in a knot.

      In a comment to a previous post, you let us know black anti vaxers can’t be evangelical.

      Good thing you got that mark, huh?

      Like

  5. All joking aside, there’s a caveat to anti Vax deaths that is worth mourning.

    Many folks are trapped in an evangelical gulag. It’s a top down, authoritarian, mostly patriarchal movement.

    I feel bad for those who question but in questioning stand to lose so much.

    Teens, children, moms, wives, sisters, anyone who’s forced to toe the line on pain of losing everyone they know and love.

    That’s the true tragedy and I will mourn those lost lives

    Like

    • “Thinking leads to Questioning.
      Questioning leads to Doubt.
      Doubt leads to Heresy.
      Heresy must be Dealt With.
      Blessed is the mind too small for Doubt.”
      — Warhammer 40K

      Like

  6. Question not answered: either by D.B. of his commenters.
    *
    “So D.B. Do you think the Biden admin should mandate that all adults [ 18 and up ] must get vaccinated? I’m curious what you, a denizen of D.C., thinks about enforced vax mandates for all adults. Any religious exemptions?”

    Like

    • If you work in health care, or schools then mandate. I’m ambivalent about the rest. I think everyone should get vaccinated.

      I had to have my vaccinations before I started my hospital internship so there’s plenty of precedence for vaccine mandates.

      No religious exemptions. Jesus doesn’t give a crap about me so I’m ok with protecting myself from his followers.

      Like

Comments are closed.