An Evening at The Kennedy Center With Patti LuPone

On May 17 I had the opportunity to see Broadway actress Patti LuPone at The Kennedy Center here in Washington, D.C. This is just a brief post with a lot of YouTube clips. I planned to get this up sooner.

 

FB_IMG_1717385624369

Taken in New York City in 2021.

On the evening of May 17, 2024 I had what was one of the most incredible concerts that I have attended. It was one of the items on my “bucket list” and had been pushed by a cousin in the San Francisco Bay Area for years. I saw in concert one of the most well known Broadway actresses today that originated and created so many famous roles. She originated the role of Eva Peron in Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Evita in 1978 in New York. She was the original Fantine in the first British production of Les Miserables. She has appeared in musicals such as Company and Gypsy which she is well known for, and going back to Andrew Lloyd Webber she was the original Norma Desmond in the London production of Sunset Boulevard. She gave a concert that was a reflection on her career and life and did many of the songs for which she is well known. I wanted to get this post up shortly after this concert, but when I had a car accident two days later, that took a lot of energy out of me, and I was pretty down. So I will leave you with a few clips from Patti LuPone for you to enjoy.

2 thoughts on “An Evening at The Kennedy Center With Patti LuPone

  1. W.E., I’d like to include another version of “The Ladies Who Lunch” sung by Patti LuPone during Stephen Sondheim’s 80th birthday celebration (others Broadway legends sitting behind P.L. on stage, include Elaine Stritch [the original singer of “The Ladies Who Lunch”], Bernadette Peters, Audra MacDonald, etc.). I’ve watched this video countless times when I simply need to go to a happy place. :

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.