Recommended Read: When the Homeless and Mentally Ill Come to Church

Promoting an article that I read the other day from the Religious News Service on when the homeless and mentally ill come to church. This is an article that I felt many people should read. 

“More and more people are facing homelessness and housing problems.” 

Adam Sampson 

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
    because he has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
    and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free,

Luke 4:18 NIV 

Its always been my belief that many evangelical churches struggle with how to respond to people who are mentally ill, or homeless. To be honest I have believed that Roman Catholicism has beaten evangelicalism on issues of helping the poor or mentally ill. The lone exception is the Salvation Army. But to be fair I think greater society has also struggled at understanding mental illness as well. I read this article the other day at Religion News Service that I wanted to share with people to read. The article is called “When the homeless and mentally ill wander into church.” Have a good days guys! 

Leave a Reply

