Stories of People who Left Mormonism

A series of personal stories of people who left Mormonism is the subject of this post. As I have a lot of different people find my blog on the internet, this is something that I have been meaning to do for a while. 

“You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you’ll discover will be wonderful. What you’ll discover is yourself.” 

Alan Alda 

“If you don’t get lost, there’s a chance you may never be found

Author Unknown 

And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

John 1:14 KJV

This is a post that I have had sitting in my production agenda for some time. I have written a couple of articles about Mormonism. Mormonism is a part of my history, after all I almost became Mormon in college. Pushing back was hard. At the time I wanted the church to be true, but as the evidence lined up, it became hard to believe it to be so. I walked away from it and never got baptized. Over the years I have explored and wondered about why other people have left Mormonism. I spent some time on Youtube finding a number of stories of why people left. It was for a wide array of reasons. Some left because they were gay. Others left because they saw historical problems with the origins of the LDS faith. Below you will find a series of videos for you to watch. Take them in and process them. Search for the truth and follow the truth wherever it takes you. The bold section posted below I found on the internet a while ago. I do not know where it came from, but it hit a nerve with me. I hope some will find it helpful as well. 

When I was nineteen two Mormon missionaries proselytized me for six months. I liked them a lot. I wanted to become a Mormon, but more than that I wanted Mormonism to be true.

It was disillusioning to learn that it is not true. The Book of Mormon claims to be a detailed history of pre Columbian America from 600 B.C. to 421 A.D. There is no archaeological evidence that any of the events mentioned in The Book of Mormon happened. There is much evidence that it did not happen.

The American Indians who lived back then in the areas where The Book of Mormon says they lived did not practice Judaism and later on Christianity as the Book of Mormon claims. They were polytheistic, and practiced human sacrifices. They had systems of writing. It has been translated. It makes no mention of the people named in The Book of Mormon.

Joseph Smith bought an ancient Egyptian manuscript. He claimed to translate it into The Book of Abraham. The manuscript has been found. It has been translated by reputable Egyptologists. It concerns ancient Egyptian deities. It makes no mention of Abraham at all.

Chris on Leaving Mormonism

Eric Morrison on Leaving Mormonism

Angel on Mormonism

Blake Renner

Matt Rios

Amy Logan 

Christopher Davis 

Curits Penfold 

Anderson Family 

Anonymous 

I know for some people who find this post who are in Mormonism those videos will be hard to listen to. My hope is that you challenge yourself and wrestle with the information. Stay committed to looking for truth and follow wherever it leads. I am going to close with a LDS song from a recent Mormon film called “Meet the Mormons.” Take care and keep looking for the truth. That is my charge to you. 

 

One thought on “Stories of People who Left Mormonism

  1. One of the funniest of ex-Mormon stories is that of William Shunn, “SF writer and convicted international terrorist”:
    http://www.shunn.net/about.html
    His autobiography/memoir is titled “The Accidental Terrorist”; I remember reading the rough at his old website and it was a real hoot.

    His old website also included a TV script he wrote around that time, a parody of a documentary about Mormon Mishies. Sadly, it has vanished into the night and fog. All the Wayback links route to his current site.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

