Visiting and Reaching Out to First Free Wichita, a 9 Marks Church in the Midwest District of the EFCA

Doing a quick write up about an overture to First Free Wichita when I was in Wichita, Kansas a few days ago. This is my email to this prominent Evangelical Free 9 Marks church in Wichita, Kansas. There is a lot in the works with this church that I will be writing about in the next couple of days . 

“The journey that I have undertaken, meeting people from all walks of life and learning from them, has been my biggest achievement.” 

Amir Khan 

“I love meeting new people; I think everyone has a story to tell. We should all listen sometimes.” 

Kim Smith 

I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people— for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.

1 Timothy 2:1-4 NIV 

Main Worship Center

Recently I was in Kansas…I mean what can I say, but I do get around. From Pennsylvania, to New Jersey to the Midwest. Since I write about the EFCA I do like to get to meet and get to know other people to hear their perspectives. I sent an email to a number of people at First Free Wichita  when I was in Kansas and none of them responded. Emailed were Josh Black, Susan Dorsey, Curt Romig, Dick High, Jordan Krahn, Lucas McGarity, Jill Yowell, and Jeff Warren. Now I believe Josh Black is on a sabbatical I think, so I can see that aspect. But other than that I got the silent treatment which I have to say is disappointing. Is independent thought frowned upon in First Free? Oh well….I will be in Kansas in the near future maybe we can meet again. Its my understanding and my belief that Curt Romig may or may not be on staff at First Free Wichita. We’ll see what happens, The Wondering Eagle will have a post about some developments with First Free Wichita. Anyhow the email I sent to First Free Wichita is below. You can see some pictures I took of First Free 

First Free-

I will be in Wichita tomorrow afternoon. Do any of you want to meet and talk for about half an hour or so? Since I will be writing about First Free Wichita at The Wondering Eagle I wanted to see if you want to meet and get to know each other. I like to meet people and shake their hand. Let me know…I won’t be able to attend church there due to a service I am committed to in Salina. But I hope we can meet. If not that’s fine. I will be back here in the near future. I have a lot of connections in Kansas and Missouri so I do get around. 

Take care, 

Very Respectfully, 

David Bonner 

Take care First Free I hope we can meet the next time I am passing through Kansas.

 

3 thoughts on “Visiting and Reaching Out to First Free Wichita, a 9 Marks Church in the Midwest District of the EFCA

  1. Hi David, you have indicated in a number of previous posts your interest in hearing from people who are unhappy with their EV Free Church or pastor contact you to tell you why they’re upset and spill the beans about what’s going on in their church.
    So, if I got an e-mail from you asking if I wanted to meet you for coffee, I’d immediately be suspicious. thinking you are mud raking, not actually interested in anything other than “dirt” so to speak.

    Maybe I’m too overly suspicious of my fellow man/woman.
    Probably you’re an interesting cup of coffee.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Is Curt Romig and First Free Wichita Exporting Another 9 Marks Church to the United Arab Emirates? | Wondering Eagle

Comments are closed.