Kansas City, Missouri and the National World War I Museum

Just putting up some pictures from my time in Kansas City, Missouri. The pictures below are of Kansas City and the National World War I Museum. In the coming days I will post pictures of Wichita, Kansas and around Salina. Plus I also have a lot of pictures of Eisenhower’s Library in Abilene, Kansas. 

BBC documentary on World War I. 

The start of my Kansas City trip originated on D.C. Metro. 

Welcome to Kansas City, Missouri!

National World War I Museum in Kansas City, Missouri. 

Kansas City, Missouri Skyline. Union Station in front and downtown behind it. 

Entrance to WW I Exhibit at start of the display. 

An example of the trenches in WW I

Battle of Verdun quote. 

Wartime description of Christmas from a German soldier on the front. 

German and French gas masks. Poison gas was first used in the second Battle of Ypres in World War I. Over 87,000 were killed, missing or wounded. 

Disabled French tank from WW I. 

Additional military equipment. 

Further military equipment. 

Treaty of Versailles which ended WW I. 

Kansas City Union Station waiting hall.

Track 16 at Kansas City Union Station

Main Hall of Kansas City Union Station 

Scott Van Sweringen’s Nickel Plate Road 

Rural Missouri

 

One thought on “Kansas City, Missouri and the National World War I Museum

  1. Welcome to Kansas City, Missouri!

    Ground Zero in The Day After!

    Treaty of Versailles which ended WW I.

    And set up WW II, the Cold War, Korea, Vietnam, the Arab-Israeli Wars, and the current Islamic Wars.

    Scott Van Sweringen’s Nickel Plate Road 

    Led by one of the famous Nickel Plate Berkshires. Looks like O Gauge semi-tinplate on the Lionel version of Unitrack; the track spacing, Hi-Rail-style third rail, and curve radius say “Lionel”.

    Oh, and on the system I’m viewing this on, about half the pics are 404. Don’t know if something’s wrong or you just haven’t uploaded the JPEGs to WordPress yet.

    Like

Comments are closed.