With a Delta Airline Delay in Shreveport, Louisiana Does Redeemer Arlington’s Carolyn McCully Believe the Lord is Sovereign?

As I am flying back to California to help in my Mom’s illness I notice something that occurred on Twitter. Redeemer Arlington’s Carolyn McCully was delayed in Shreveport, Louisiana due to weather. When I saw her response to the delay on Twitter I knew that I had to raise this topic. This is a post about Carolyn McCully and her lack of faith in the end. After all who is Carolyn to complain about her delay on Delta when John Piper has spoken and the final word on all issues related to weather?

“Maturity is when your world opens up and you realize that you are not the center of it.”  

M.J. Croan

“We do not ascribe such independent power to Mother Nature or to the devil. God alone has the last say in where and how the wind blows. If a tornado twists at 175 miles an hour and stays on the ground like a massive lawnmower for 50 miles, God gave the command.”

John Piper on tornadoes and weather

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

Romans 12:12 NIV

On Friday March 24, 2017 I was flying back to Fresno, California to support my family in a medical crisis. I had traveled on United Airlines flight 735 from Dulles International Airport to Denver International Airport. The flight was landing and taxing in Denver when I turned on my cell phone. As fate would have it the landing jet bridge broke and we had to wait a few minutes until it was repaired. While I waited I went through my social media and scanned my Twitter feed. While my flight was having a technical glitch with the jet bridge resolved I saw another situation with Carolyn McCully’s Twitter feed that I picked up on. Apparently Carolyn was flying Delta from Shreveport, Louisiana to Atlanta, Georgia. And the ground crew disappeared and then in the subsequent discussion Delta told Carolyn that it was due to a weather delay. Let’s look at this discussion from Carolyn’s Twitter feed.

 

This Blog Writes About Eric Simmons Redeemer Arlington

This blog was born out of pain from an incident of spiritual abuse at Redeemer Arlington. I had an Air Force Captain who tried to get me involved in that organization. His name was Andrew White (pseudo but if anyone has any questions they can ask Jordan Kauflin or Eric Simmons for his real name) and he was discipled by Jordan Kauflin. Actually Jordan discipled both Andrew and his wife Jillian when they had a miscarriage. Andrew then gave birth to a false accusation that took aim at my name, and ability to earn income. As I tried to put the pieces of my life together again Andrew in time turned to recruiting another co-worker to Redeemer Arlington. For 13 months I lived under the threat of being reported to law enforcement for a crime I never committed. While an attorney advised me that I had a defamation of character lawsuit as the situation dragged on I also learned why rape and sexual assault are a problem in the United States military when I saw how a military officer can abuse their authority. This situation was never resolved and it just dragged on and on. You can read about that inHow I Managed a False Accusation Given Birth to by a USAF Captain and Care Group Leader from Redeemer Arlington for 408 Days.” Plus there is also “An Open Letter to Andrew White.In the process the leadership of Redeemer Arlington  revealed that they are just as corrupt as the pool that they originally came from – Sovereign Grace Ministries. This blog writes about the issues at Redeemer Arlington and today is another reason to write about another angle to Redeemer Arlington.

I have written about Carolyn McCully inThe History of Eric Simmons’ Redeemer Arlington: Formerly of Sovereign Grace Ministries now of Acts 29.” I have to be honest and state that I do not understand what her appeal is at all. I think Carolyn is overrated, and someone who has spent her life milking the system. Her presence in evangelicalism reveals how spiritually bankrupt many parts of evangelicalism can be. In George Orwell’s Animal Farm,  Orwell writes that all animals are equal but some are more equal than others. I think that applies well to Carolyn McCully. For Carolyn, as a female, having deep roots and history in Sovereign Grace Ministries which is deeply patriarchal, I find it interesting that Carolyn has been able to do all that she does. To be her age and not have popped out 15 kids by now is a monumental failure in that theology stream. But as we know Neo-Calvinism is a corrupt movement that is sick to its core. In this case I believe the reason why Carolyn has been able to do much of what she has done is because of connections and greasing the network. I find that to be especially true when SGM was more of a force then it is today. But that was before C.J. Mahaney in all his manliness ran and hid behind Mark Dever’s ass at Capitol Hill Baptist Church when all his allegations of illegal activity came to light. Plus that was before that poor bastard again fled to Louisville in yet another act of manliness.  Oh the joys of Neo-Calvinism! Having written all that today’s post is further evidence why I don’t understand why people want to listen to Carolyn McCully at all. After all it begs the following question..when I see Carolyn going berserk on Twitter and the cause for her airline delay is weather related, does she believe God is sovereign? But before I go there let’s review what John Piper has taught in this area.

 

John Piper on God’s Sovereignty

John Piper has a deeply warped view of sovereignty. Let’s look at what Piper says in one article and then let’s look at what he has said about weather. In December 2015 at Desiring God John Piper tragically pennedPlunge Your Mind into the Ocean of God’s Sovereignty.” John’s article reveals some of the key flaws of Neo-Calvinism. Let’s look at what he said.

Sometimes we need to be reminded by God himself that there are no limits to his rule. We need to hear from him that he is sovereign over the whole world, and everything that happens in it. We need his own reminder that he is never helpless, never frustrated, never at a loss. We need his assurance that he reigns over ISIS, terrorism, Syria, Russia, China, India, Nigeria, France, Myanmar, Saudi Arabia, and the United States of America — every nation, every people, every language, every tribe, every chief, president, king, premier, prime minister, politician, great or small.

So in that paragraph we see John Piper say that God controls absolutely everything. From every ISIL act of terrorism, to Syria using chemical weapons on children and young civilians. He was sovereign over Saddam Hussein when he had parts of his population exterminated and killed. And he is sovereign over such states such as North Korea as well. Further on in the article John Piper explains how scripture supports this view of sovereignty.

We submit with reverence to you, O God, because, through your Son, you remove and install the rulers of the world.

“Wisdom and might belong to me. I change times and seasons; I remove kings and set up kings.” (Daniel 2:20–21)

“I loose the bonds of kings and bind a waistcloth on their hips.” (Job 12:18)

“I sent my angel and struck Herod down, because he did not give me glory, and he was eaten by worms and breathed his last.” (Acts 12:23)

We submit with reverence to you, O God, because, through your Son, you remove and install the rulers of the world.

“Wisdom and might belong to me. I change times and seasons; I remove kings and set up kings.” (Daniel 2:20–21)

“I loose the bonds of kings and bind a waistcloth on their hips.” (Job 12:18)

“I sent my angel and struck Herod down, because he did not give me glory, and he was eaten by worms and breathed his last.” (Acts 12:23)

 

While this deals with the sovereignty of the state and political leaders and nations, Carolyn dealt with a weather delay. What has John Piper taught about weather and storms?  InFierce Tornadoes and the Fingers of God John Piper says the following in response to a series of tornadoes across the Midwest in 2012.

Why would God reach down his hand and drag his fierce fingers across rural America, killing at least 38 people with 90 tornadoes in 12 states, and leaving some small towns with scarcely a building standing, including churches?

If God has a quarrel with America, wouldn’t Washington, D.C., or Las Vegas, or Minneapolis, or Hollywood be a more likely place to show his displeasure?

We do not ascribe such independent power to Mother Nature or to the devil. God alone has the last say in where and how the wind blows. If a tornado twists at 175 miles an hour and stays on the ground like a massive lawnmower for 50 miles, God gave the command.

So if God gave the command how did Carolyn McCully act in a weather delay?

 

Oh Sister of Little Faith and Another Reason Why I Reject Neo-Calvinism

When I sat on that United Airlines flight in Denver and I saw Carolyn McCully’s behavior on Twitter I laughed out loud. It reminds me of how spiritually bankrupt Neo-Calvinism is as a movement and the reasons, again why I in good conscious just could not resonate or respect that movement at all. I thought that the behavior of Carolyn McCully on Twitter shows how little faith she has in the Lord especially with all that John Piper has taught on God’s sovereignty. If the Lord is going to will tornadoes, and more, doesn’t that include bad weather which delayed Carolyn’s flight? Why did Carolyn get on Twitter and complain? As the faithful Muslim, whoops I mean Neo-Calvinist shouldn’t Carolyn just accept the fact that weather delayed her flight and not question where the crews are and make a stink on Twitter? If you want to read more about the Islamization of Christianity, you can read more here. After all shouldn’t Carolyn get down on her knees and face Mecca, whoops I mean wherever the holy ground John Piper is standing, bow and face him? I mean John Piper has spoken on this subject…who is Carolyn to gripe and challenge Brother John? Oh sister of little faith its in times like this that one can understand how shallow the Neo-Calvinist theology system can be. When a push comes to a shove, she should not have asked questions. After all in her stream of theology God willed the weather delay that affected her Delta flight. When you deal with a faith system that is pure determinism then you have to accept the consequences of what happens.  I reject this line of thinking as it creates more problems and adds to people’s pain in the process. I reject this because it creates a line of thought that is more in common with Sunni Islam than historic Christianity. When I saw Carolyn McCully’s Twitter feed this just begged a response and it was one that I felt compelled to point out. Oh sister of little faith, why don’t you grow up some more. That’s all I have to say on this subject.

4 thoughts on “With a Delta Airline Delay in Shreveport, Louisiana Does Redeemer Arlington’s Carolyn McCully Believe the Lord is Sovereign?

  1. This is a post about Carolyn McCully and her lack of faith in the end. After all who is Carolyn to complain about her delay on Delta when John Piper has spoken and the final word on all issues related to weather?

    And God willed this as Punishment because of Gay Marriage (with Piping voice and fluttering drama-queen hands)?

    Or maybe she’s really a MUSCULAR Woman (more Piping voice and fluttering hands)?

    I think that applies well to Carolyn McCully. For Carolyn, as a female, having deep roots and history in Sovereign Grace Ministries which is deeply patriarchal, I find it interesting that Carolyn has been able to do all that she does.

    Two words:
    QUEEN BEE.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. She didn’t seem to complain about the weather. Just a missing crew & Delta/airport computer issues, which apparently is what was being reported to her & the passengers by the pilot. In fact, she seemed to accept the weather delay with grace (“appreciate your quick responses”).

    Nevertheless, if — as Piper says — God is sovereign over all, then God also caused the crew the get misplaced, and God also caused the Delta/airport computer issues.

    Then again, if God causes everything, then I can just do whatever I want, and say that the Lord willed whatever I did to happen…. which seems like a deliberate abuse of that theology.

    And yet… Romans 9 kind of addresses this head-on, does it not?

    Theologians have wrestled with the issue of God’s sovereignty vs free-will for generations. Far be it from me to figure it out, but perhaps when Paul wrote of learning to “be content in all circumstances”, that may be part of the answer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Then again, if God causes everything, then I can just do whatever I want, and say that the Lord willed whatever I did to happen….

      “In’shal’lah…”
      A justification for anything & everything which has also plagued Islam throughout its history. With the added bonus of a “Not My Fault!” excuse machine when “just do whatever I want” blows up in your face.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ejj for me, and correct me if I am wrong, if one is going to be in this strain of Neo-Calvinism/Neo-Puritanism then why question or do much of anything? If God has ordained every act why complain? Why go to the doctor? Why plan a week? Determinism means that everything has been already arranged. If that is the case then questioning is challenging and sin in this strain of theology is it not? So was Carolyn McCully sinning by challenging the disappearance of Delta crew/computer issues. .

      Like

Leave a Reply

