Traveling to California for a Funeral, and to See my Mom and Family

For the next couple of days I will be in California. It will be a somber occasion as I am traveling for a funeral. Then I will spend time with my Mom who is still dealing with illness. I just want to do a brief post reflecting on what I will likely encounter for the next few days. 

“Grief is the price we pay for love.” 

Queen Elizabeth II

“What do you say? There really are no words for that. There really aren’t. Somebody tries to say, ‘I’m sorry, I’m so sorry.’ People say that to me. There’s no language for it. Sorry doesn’t do it. I think you should just hug people and mop their floor or something.”

Toni Morrison

When the perishable puts on the imperishable, and the mortal puts on immortality, then shall come to pass the saying that is written:

“Death is swallowed up in victory.”
55 “O death, where is thy victory?
O death, where is thy sting?”

56 The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. 57 But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 15:54-57 RSVCE 

garzastrong

#GarzaStrong in Oklahoma 

One of my favorite football movies deals with a story that happens right here in my backyard of Washington, D.C. Its the story that is told in Remember The Titans. Its about the T.C. Williams football team. While parts of the movie are embellished there is one part that is accurate. It deals with the death of Gerry Bertier who in real life was tragically killed by a drunk driver in 1981. For his funeral the T.C. Williams football team came together to pay their final respects and say goodbye. I put that final scene up above because I believe its very appropriate to highlight for this post. On Thursday March 2, 2017 the community that knew Justin Garza is coming together from far and wide to bid him farewell and say goodbye. To see how many people cared for Justin stop and reflect on #GarzaStrong being shown in Oklahoma.  Justin’s battle with cancer motivated many people to come alongside him. For me Justin’s death has been a hard situation to process. While I knew he was ill, I didn’t know he was in hospice. By this time tomorrow I will no doubt see people I have not seen in years. All of us will come together to say goodbye to a friend – Justin Garza. Death does that…funerals unite and bring people together from far and wide. While I will travel from Washington, D.C. others are also traveling a great distance for this event, or they will be local. As I type this I have been reflecting on the fact that my travels as of late have been hard. My plane ride in an hour will give me a lot to think about. 

In addition my Mom is still dealing with her illness. My sister has been my Mom’s caregiver and I have been in touch with my family during this time. So outside the funeral I will be spending time helping my Mom and taking care of her. Plus I will come along for my Mom’s doctor appointment. I will be busy with all this and I may be slow to approve comments. I know you will understand. I also ask that you please keep the Garza family in your thoughts and prayers. To die at 41 and leave behind a wife and 2 children is heartbreaking. I can’t imagine that feeling..as 41 is too young to pass away. Again as I wrote in this prior post I would challenge everyone who reads this to register with the bone marrow registry. Take care guys and spend this time to reach out to those you know. Don’t take people in your midst for granted as we are not guaranteed tomorrow.