Wanted: Thoughts on How to Improve and Reform the Evangelical Free Church of America, Please Contact Me

A brief article to lay the foundation for a post in the next two months. Eventually I want to lay out the issues in the Evangelical Free Church that need change, and how they can be reformed. Its my goal to make The Wondering Eagle as a resource to influence and change the Evangelical Free Church of America (EFCA). In a future post I intend I lay out my long terms goals at The Wondering Eagle in regards to the Evangelical Free Church of America.  If you have a history in the EFCA please contact me at wonderingeagle261@gmail.com

 

“To reform a world, to reform a nation, no wise man will undertake; and all but foolish men know, that the only solid, though a far slower reformation, is what each begins and perfects on himself.”

Thomas Carlyle

“Turn where we may, within, around, the voice of great events is proclaiming to us, Reform, that you may preserve!”

Thomas Macaulay

And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ 31 The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] No other commandment is greater than these.”

Mark 12:30-31 NLT

efca-logo

A brief post for those who have been involved in the Evangelical Free Church of America. I am in the process of emailing and reaching out to people who I have come to know through this blog who have a history with this denomination. Here is what I am interested in…in about a month or two I plan to write a post laying out in detail the recommendations on how to improve the Evangelical Free Church of America. It will include a number of things from addressing flaws in pastoral credentialing, to help manage the growth of Neo-Calvinism all the way to propose stricter safeguards to protect children from child sex abuse in this denomination. It will be a long list. It will then be the goal to slowly try and implement those changes in the course of time through the hard work of writing and painful stories that illustrate change is needed. If you were involved in the EFCA in any capacity I would love to hear from you. Based on your experience what would you recommend to help reform the denomination and make it healthier and stronger? This is going to be done with the idea of helping and protecting people. I have come to know many people who have been hurt in EFCA churches and I would like to make sure the safeguards are put in place so that it doesn’t happen beyond that. If you have been involved in the EFCA in any capacity please email me what changes or reform you believe should be done. I would be happy to speak with some of you by phone or talk by email. My email address is wonderingeagle261@gmail.com For those of you who want to read why you undertake reform like this I would direct you to the following post which is called, “Why Write about Church Corruption, Systemic and Systematic Issues? Lessons from the Creation of the National Park Service in 1916.”