Jon Rees on Twitter and a Question I Have; How will Redemption Hill Engage Culture When Individuals Like Jon Rees Can’t Even Handle Questions or Other Points of View?

This morning I was getting into the swing of things when I was working through my email and Twitter. The other day I wrote about Bill Riedel’s Redemption Hill and I noticed that Jon Rees had blocked me on Twitter. One tweet and one write up and he can’t even process or take the heat. Is that how a man operates? Is this how Jesus would engage the world? Or is Jon Rees acting like Jonah and just fleeing? This is a quick post about Jon Rees

“Asking the right questions takes as much skill as giving the right answers.”

Robert Half

 “What people think of as the moment of discovery is really the discovery of the question.”

Jonas Salk

Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God
    as something to cling to.Instead, he gave up his divine privileges;
    he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being

Philippians 2: 6-7 NLT

 

jon-reesJon Rees shows deep maturity on Twitter

jon-rees1

Jon Rees’ picture from Redemption Hill website

Before I get into the brief post this morning I want to talk a little about differing points of views. To date I have never blocked anyone on Twitter and I have no plans to…yes that includes the guy who Tweets me about Islam. I can’t imagine blocking someone, nor do I have any plans. To block someone I believe shows shallowness, immaturity, and an inability to process other points of view. But here is the other question I have…is that kind of behavior going to work in secular culture today? Is that how people are going to be engaged and dialoged?

But let’s go beyond Twitter and think about things in the broader sense. I have only blocked one person, and he knows who he is. And I plan to give him another chance in the future as I believe in second chances. Furthermore 99% of the comments that have been left at The Wondering Eagle have been approved. Yes even the person tied to Acts 29 Fellowship Memphis who called me an asshole, yes I approved that as well. You can read that about me in the comment section “Rick Trotter Update, News on Heather Trotter, and Acts 29 Fellowship Memphis Going Forward.” I don’t enjoy being called an asshole, nor do I approve such comments with joy. However, I also view them as going along with the territory. Its kind of like the person who wants the excellent government benefits of being a fireman in Fairfax County, Virginia, but who doesn’t want to get up at 4:00 a.m. Well getting up in the middle of the night is part of the job. Being a pastor or public figure also includes listening to other points of view. I certainly do that…actually I do it in a much broader construct to include listening to people of other faiths or no faith. I have let atheists comment and I am happy to let them comment.

Jon Rees the questions I asked in yesterday’s post “Acts 29 Bill Riedel’s Redemption Hill in Washington, D.C.; How Healthy is It?” are hard but they must be asked. I made a very compelling case in writing about what culture is. I then proceeded to write about the history of Acts 29. I did all that to ask some difficult questions about the culture at Redemption Hill given what Mark Driscoll has taught in the past. Now in addition I know in looking at your Twitter feed you follow C.J. Mahaney. So obviously you don’t give a damn about the rape of a child and the alleged cover up and as a father that is disappointing. When the system turns on you, or abuses you  things change but for that matter I hope you never go through some of what others have told me. So again Jon Rees the question still stands…after all in the past you most likely were totting and drooling to everything Mark Driscoll said. So again I am going to ask you Jon…do you believe that women are penis homes? Do you believe that a repentant woman gets down on her knees and performs a blow job on her man? Do you and Redemption Hill agree with what Mark Driscoll taught? (Note for readers you can find the links in the original post) Do you believe that plagiarism and the intellectual theft of other’s people’s writing is okay? A mistake here and there I get…but what 10 to 12 books? Jon I did academic work in my past and I know how serious that can be. If you went to Trinity Evangelical Divinity school my question is then going to be…does Trinity understand plagiarism?

In blocking someone Jon you made the problem much worse in many ways. But this is the biggest…..you also verified what Jonathan Merritt said about The Gospel Coalition and people being blocked left and right. How can you engage or discuss if that is your reaction. You can read about that inRedeemer Arlington, The Gospel Coalition and the Evasive Neo-Calvinist Culture Which I Do Not Understand.”   But all I did was ask a question based upon Mark Driscoll’s teachings which are still popular in parts of the Acts 29 network. How many Acts 29 pastors, like yourself, have come out and said, “No women are not penis homes!!” Your silence on those topics shows your agreement in many ways.

Jon your inability to handle difficult questions reveals the thin skin that you have. But its like the Neo-Calvinists who you drool over…you act like Jonah and you flee. Wow…way to be a man! (slow clap….slow clap….slow clap…..) You know one of the reasons why I respect Jonathan Leeman is because he is one of the people I Tweet heavily to, and he has not blocked me. So I respect him in that regards. Maybe you can grab a beer and ask him sometime what it means to accept difficult questions. Anyhow I need to run I will let you resume your blocking spree on Twitter. Just remember Jesus asked hard questions to..and if he Tweeted you a hard question you in all likelihood would have blocked him as well. So again my question yesterday is “How healthy is Redemption Hill?” You have motivated me further Jon to write more about this Acts 29/EFCA church. Plus you have also motivated me to write more about issues in Acts 29 and EFCA churches. Have a good day sir, I will post this and let this follow your website. You know Jon…people have contacted me and thanked me for keeping them out of certain churches. I look forward to that day when someone who moves to Capitol Hill googles you when they are thinking about attending and reads about you at this blog, and decides to stay away. People have and do email me or ask to meet and they have thanked me for writing.