Evangelicals and Art: Guys and Dolls

Guys and Dolls is what I am throwing up this weekend. This is a classic by Frank Loesser when it came out in 1950. It has been made into a movie and had multiple revivals both in the United States and London. This is about a gambler who has to come up with $1000 to find a location for the game. Nathan bets Sky Masterson that he can not get Sarah Brown out on a date. There is a deal where he agrees to bring some of the gamblers to the mission. I would recommend “Sit Down You’re Rockin the Boat”,” I’ve Never Been in Love Before” and “Luck Be a Lady.” Have a good weekend guys!

Peter Gallagher, Josie De Guzman – I’ve Never Been in Love Before

Walter Bobbie, Company – Sit Down You’re Rockin the Boat

Overture

Walter Bobbie, J.K. Simmons – Fugue for Tinhorns

Josie de Guzman, Mission Board – Follow the Fold

The Oldest Established

Peter Gallagher, Josie de Guzman – I’ll Know

Walter Bobbie, J.K. Simmons – Guys and Dolls

Holly Williams, Ken Clark – I’ve Never Been in Love

Peter Gallagher – Luck be a Lady

 

Queens College Production – Luck be a Lady

Peter Gallagher, Josie de Guzman – I’ve Never Been in Love Before

 

2 thoughts on “Evangelicals and Art: Guys and Dolls

  1. Guys and Dolls is what I am throwing up this weekend.

    Eagle, you DO know the phrase “throwing up this weekend” can be taken two ways…

    Like

Comments are closed.