What Jonathan Leeman Can Learn From Me on Difficult Blog Comments

A brief post on what Jonathan Leeman can learn from me accepting comments, especially as the 9 Marks editor has a nasty habit of deleting them! Once again the Eagle will flutter over to Capitol Hill Baptist Church and instruct 9 Marks and Jonathan on how to respond.

“Free speech carries with it some freedom to listen.”

Warren Burger

“You know everyone believes in free speech until you start questioning them about it.”

Larry Flynt

“To suppress free speech is a double wrong. It violates the right of the hearer as well as the rights of the speaker.”

Frederick Douglas

The godly hate lies; the wicked cause shame and disgrace.

Proverbs 13:5 NLT

 

1leeman-9marks-1

The Spinmesiter of 9 Marks!

Tonight I was at Wegmans which I am convinced the Lord made on the eighth day. While I was there I started to have a fire storm and it was quite obvious that my last post on Fellowship Memphis hit a nerve. You can see the comments on the following post called, “Rick Trotter Update, News on Heather Trotter, and Acts 29 Fellowship Memphis Going Forward.” The IP addresses for all the comments are from the Memphis, Atlanta and California. Here is the reason why I approve comments like these  on this blog.

  1. They give you a perspective on how people attached to these places or individuals think. You can see how strong the Kool Aid can be.
  2. They illustrate the problems of the church. After all when someone comes after me and calls me an asshole and this is from a “Gospel Centered” church you know you have problems.
  3. The comments are part of the story as this situation at Fellowship Memphis unfolds.
  4. Censoring or removing them despite the horrific attacks would play in their favor, after all if I left such a comment I would be embarrassed.
  5. Its foolish to think that in this day and age you can hide such comments.

Jonathan Leeman, again listen and learn from me. If you want to have lunch sometime I can show you how to approve such comments. Deleting or destroying them just won’t cut it today. If you don’t know as to what I am speaking about I encourage you to read Todd Wilhelm’s post called, “Jonathan Leeman: Parsing Words and Deleting Comments.”  So with that said I hope you guys have a great evening!

 

3 thoughts on “What Jonathan Leeman Can Learn From Me on Difficult Blog Comments

  1. You’re a grown man, David, and you behave accordingly.
    I’ll bet you knew there would be some disagreements and controversy when you started this blog, and I’ll bet you were prepared to ride it out.
    Leeman showed his true colors – he’s just a self-centered crybaby! When things don’t go his way, he runs to the closet and hides.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This may be a comparison of apples and oranges. I did a quick read of the comments you referenced and there was not much substantial, just the usual “slander” accusation, no point by point refutation. In Leeman’s case the comments amounted to substantive rebuttal of his post.

    That said, after reading your posts and comments this past year I believe that you would have the humility to take a rebuttal, even if well aimed, and would profit from it. Humility is one thing severely lacking from the 9Marks/TGC practitioners, Leeman in particular.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The other important thing, in my opinion, is to debate ideas, not people. There’s a fine line between saying, “that idea is moronic, and here is why”, and calling someone a moron, but the difference is important. Too often, people take debates on ideas personally, when they need not do so. One can respect a person to the max, but still disagree on various aspects of life.

    Your stance is the mature one, though once someone begins attacking people, rather than ideas, that is usually the point at which I simply leave conversations. As you say, it reflects on them, more than the recipient of the vitriol. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.