Practicing Discernment: Restored Church in San Diego, California

A post that will allow readers to practice discernment. Today I am putting up a church website of another Evangelical Free Church in San Diego, California called Restored Church which has two locations. I am asking for people to practice discernment and examine and study the website. I am setting the stage for a couple of posts in the next two weeks about EFCA West.

“Intelligence is something we are born with. Thinking is a skill that must be learned.”

Edward De Bono

“To live is to think.”

Marcus Cicero

That very night the believers sent Paul and Silas to Berea. When they arrived there, they went to the Jewish synagogue. 11 And the people of Berea were more open-minded than those in Thessalonica, and they listened eagerly to Paul’s message. They searched the Scriptures day after day to see if Paul and Silas were teaching the truth. 12 As a result, many Jews believed, as did many of the prominent Greek women and men.

Acts 17:10-12

Today I have another church for you guys to practice discernment on. The point of these posts is to get people to think critically and ask hard questions. When you look at a church website what do you see? Would you recommend it? Would you show up?

This is another Evangelical Free Church in EFCA West in San Diego. Restored Church has two locations, with one at Uptown and South Bay. This church is linked to the Anthem movement in Southern California which I am going to be looking at shortly, as they are Evangelical Free also. Restored Church Uptown is led by Andy Rodgers and Jarek Berga. The location at South Bay is led by Danny Quimlat and Tom Logue. But look over the website, and study it. Look at what is said about the church, its leaders, its resources, its statement of faith and more.

I look forward to hearing what you find and what you say. In a couple of weeks time I will illustrate how connected and interwoven many organizations can be. Sorry for the large volume of postings but I have so much I am trying to get out and document in regards to the Evangelical Free Church of America. Take care guys and know that I love you!

10 thoughts on “Practicing Discernment: Restored Church in San Diego, California

  1. Eagle, this one is easy. There is nary a grey hair on any of the “elders” or staff yet they devote an entire web page to why they should have authority. That should be enough but if not, Mark Driscoll is on their recommended reading list. In short, long on arrogance, short on wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bill this is a very problematic church. In the next couple of weeks I am going to write about a couple of more EFCA churches nearby and how they are linked. The ties that bind reveal how much cronyism exists in modern day evangelicalism. There are several things that are deeply troubling about Restored Church but before I get into them I want to see what other people say.

      Like

    • Shy1 let me ask you a question….what would you do if your company relocated you to San Diego and someone recommended Restored Church and you are new to the San Diego area? It is not disparaging to ask questions, discuss and analyze a church. I would say that scripture mandates it. But while its glossy and has nice fonts and all that the real issues lie much deeper. Carefully read the statement of faith, look at what they say about accountability, study the resources and see the books they recommend? Look at its associations which I will be getting into in the next week or so. All of that is crucial. Looking out for yourself is not disparaging and asking questions is a sign of health. Does that make sense?

      Like

      • It totally makes sense, Eagle. If I’d relocated and was invited to that church, I wouldn’t have gotten further than the first page of glossy marketing, because it all looks so fake to me from first glance, it’s so contrived. Like I said, like junk mail, a big, fat envelope stuffed with glossy pictures and big promises. “We are a living, breathing community,” I mean, really? They have to announce this? Saying it makes it so, I guess.

        One of the coldest churches I ever attended had a big sign out front that said, “the FRIENDLY church!” hah.

        I plodded through as much of the blah blah about what they believe as I could, “After He ascended into heaven, He gave us His Spirit and established His Church to be led by elders,” Right. Oh and did they mention elders? and elders? and btw, elders… (Men, of course.) Exercising Oversight. Accountability. Getting roped into bondage never looked so good, right?

        It’s manipulative, presenting as something it’s not, right from the first glance. But- I’m old! I’ve seen a lot. A young person might look at it and think, wow, a genuine, cool, loving, community full of cool, hip, happy people that I can “do life with.” I know I was that naive as a new Christian.

        I trust you that there are issues. It doesn’t surprise me. When you’re trying to market the perfect image of a church, you can’t afford to have anything mess that up. Under the rug it must go!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Funny you should say that HUG. Mark Driscoll is still promoted in Restored Church. I wonder if Aaron Rodgers and Danny Quimlat believe women are penis homes like Mark Driscoll taught. You heard the latest teaching by Driscoll didn’t you? It is something along the lines of men being gardeners and women being gardens.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Is the Anthem “Family of Churches” Trying to Duplicate Sovereign Grace Ministries in Southern California? If so Will Anthem Cover Up Child Sex Abuse as C.J. Mahaney has Allegedly Done? | Wondering Eagle

  3. Pingback: Is the Anthem “Family of Churches” Trying to Duplicate Sovereign Grace Ministries in Southern California? If so Will Anthem Allegedly Cover Up Child Sex Abuse as C.J. Mahaney has Allegedly Done? | Wondering Eagle

Comments are closed.