Atheism Satire with Mrs. Betty Bowers, Closing out 2 Weeks of Writing Pertaining to the Reason Rally

Closing out two weeks of writing about atheism for the Reason Rally in Washington, D.C. For this post I thought I would close things out with some atheism satire. This is a brief introduction to Mrs. Betty Bowers, who is quite popular in the secular community.

“Thanking god for sparing you from a natural disaster is like sending a thank-you note to a serial killer for stabbing the family the family next door.”

Betty Bowers

“Greedy Christians endorse a businessman, not because he’s a Christian, but because Christianity is a greedy business.”

Betty Bowers Twitter

On Monday I am going back to writing about issues in modern evangelical Christianity. This is a quick post that I have been wanting to do for a while. I am working on a profile of the Center for Inquiry but I am finding more stuff to look into and I want to research it deeply. So I decided to throw up some atheism satire that is really popular in the skeptical community.

Deven Green who is from Canada does the satire character for Mrs. Betty Bowers, who is “America’s Best Christian.” Her material pokes fun at Christians, fundamentalists, and more. Her name comes from the Supreme Court decision “Bowers vs. Hardwick,” which deal with homosexuality. Deven Green was interviewed on Hemeat Mehta’s The Friendly Atheist. I have that podcast below which you can listen to. Betty Bowers has an active Twitter feed and a You Tube account.

Deven Green being interviewed by Hement Mehta

Betty Bowers Explains Traditional Marriage

Betty Bowers on Religious Freedom

Bedtime Bible Stories

As always know that I love you guys!