An Open Letter to Pam Palmer a Modern Day Deborah

An open letter to Pam Palmer encouraging her in changing the Maryland statute of limitation laws and in protesting T4G. I am with her in spirit and am proud that she is a friend. I wish her well and hope this encourages her as she going to Louisville. C.J. Mahaney needs to be held accountable for allegations of criminal activity.

“I love the man that can smile in trouble, that can gather strength from distress, and grow brave by reflections.”

Thomas Paine

“One man with courage makes a majority.”

Andrew Jackson

“I have endured a great deal of ridicule without much malice; and have received a great deal of kindness, not quite free from ridicule. I am used to it.”

Abraham Lincoln

One day she sent for Barak son of Abinoam, who lived in Kedesh in the land of Naphtali. She [Deborah] said to him, “This is what the Lord, the God of Israel, commands you: Call out 10,000 warriors from the tribes of Naphtali and Zebulun at Mount Tabor. And I will call out Sisera, commander of Jabin’s army, along with his chariots and warriors, to the Kishon River. There I will give you victory over him

Judges 4: 6-7 NLT

Dear Pam-

On the eve of T4G starting in Louisville I wanted to spend some time and write you a letter to encourage you forward. I have a lot to say to you and I hope you find this letter as a means of inspiration. I first heard about you long before I even had the privilege to meet and get to know you. I remember watching the news and seeing about the SGM lawsuit and you speaking to the news crews. I don’t know if I ever told you this but when I was being recruited to Redeemer Arlington I fought regularly with an individual about Sovereign Grace and the health of the denomination. When I asked Andrew if it was “The Gospel to force 3 year olds to forgive their molester” he downplayed it and said if it happened it was an isolated occurrence. I was blown away when I heard that because we are speaking about systematic and systemic problems, and what happened to Renee was not an isolated incident. During this time when I was under pressure to attend Redeemer Arlington I read all the details about the lawsuit and saw the problems in both the denomination and former SGM churches who still have the same DNA. Your families’ story and the horror it went through weighed heavily on me. I just could not figure out why such a “healthy” organization as Andrew claimed would act in such a manner. It was unique and baffled me. I’ve been through a lot Pam…I’ve explored atheism, been a Catholic, almost became a Mormon in college, and intimately familiar with the Third Wave movement in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and a little of Neo-Calvinism due to once drinking the John Piper Kool-Aid. But I never heard of an organization that forced a 3 year old to forgive her molester. That just stood out as something that was really out there and damaging. I think about it from time to time and still puzzled that an organization would do something like that. It just defies logic…how can a three year old have the knowledge to know how to forgive or process something? At that age she is way too young. Her mind hasn’t even developed to know what forgiveness means…she was just a child.

Pa, you became the public face of the lawsuit against Sovereign Grace and C.J. Mahaney. I wrote this before but you and others filing the lawsuit helped me resolve the problem of evil. It taught me and reinforced the question…what do you do with evil, especially if evil is always going to exist? What does one do….? I was coming to the conclusion that one must respond and engage to limit,  contain and push back against evil. That is exactly what you did, when you filed a lawsuit against C.J. Mahaney, Sovereign Grace and Covenant Life Church. I remember the one time I thanked you on the phone and you cried. You talked about the costs of the lawsuit and how some people responded to you and your family. To that I want to remind you again, and say the following. Thank you for the SGM lawsuit. It was needed, necessary, and long over due. I know it wasn’t easy and stressful, but I commend you for your effort to stand up to evil and to challenge it directly.

I’ve been spending time trying to think of what to say and I want to make you aware of a classic story in scripture because I think it applies to you in so many ways. Its the classic story of Deborah who was the fourth and only female judge of Israel. According to my research what happened is that after Ehud’s death the Lord turned over the Israelites to the Cannonite King  Jabin of Hazar. The commander of his army was Sisera who had 900 hundred iron chariots who ruthlessly oppressed the Israelites for 20 years. Many people cried out to the Lord for help. Deborah was the wife of Lappidoth who was a prophet who had become a judge in Israel. The Israelites came to her to settle their disputes. Deborah rose to the occasion. One day she sent for Barak son of Abinoam  who lived in Kedesh and told him to assemble ten thousand warriors from differing tribes while Deborah would lure them to the Kishon river. They would have victory. Barak said he will go but only if Deborah went with him. She agreed to go with him. In the end King Jabin was defeated, this is talked about in Judges 4. Here are a couple of writings about Deborah which you can read here and here.

Pam….I believe you are a modern ay Deborah for the evangelical church. I believe you to be like this for a multitude of reasons. Like Deborah you have a lot of capabilities to mediate, advise and counsel. You do that for many people who have been hurt by the spiritual tyranny known as Sovereign Grace. You have been able to plan, respond, and engage to the challenge of child sex abuse and corruption that hemorrhages from Sovereign Grace.  I believe you are called to lead a response to the problems coming out of Sovereign Grace and I want to encourage you to take on that monstrosity until the problems are negated and neutralized.

Pam your current project has been to work at re-defining the statute of limitation laws in Maryland. I know Maryland lags behind other states in this area and this needs to change. You have a rough road ahead of you but I believe that you can accomplish this goal and change the laws. I would encourage you to not let up, and press on until the task is finished. I believe it will take a lot of blood, sweat and tears but in the end it will be well worth it. It will result in a safer society and stronger legislation in place that can hold people accountable for criminal activity. Plus it will also hold churches accountable for covering up illegal activity. Pam I want to turn my attention to the people who have opposed your efforts to change the statute of limitation laws. I am speaking of Charlotte Ennis and Terry Mayo. First let me say that I had a laughing fit when I saw that Covenant Life sent two women, I mean TWO WOMEN to oppose SB 69. I laughed…all this talk about complementarian theology and how much does Covenant Life Church believe it in the end? Not very much…but I believe Charlotte Ennis and Terry Mayo to be nothing but tools in the end. Just tools….that is all they are. Since John Piper directs a penis driven theology system on what man may do and what women can’t (despite if I may add stories like Deborah in the Bible) I find it laughable that Covenant Life Church didn’t have the courage to send two men to oppose the law. Instead they send women…women. That is just not respectable…I have very little respect for Covenant Life in light of their policies and their horrific track record.

I wrote about this in a recent post, as Charlotte Ennis was the husband of Pat Ennis. Should we be surprised that she is going to oppose SB 69? I find and have deep reservations about Terry Mayo’s story about the false accusation. You know that I endured a false accusation from an Air Force Captain at Redeemer Arlington that was shepherded by Jordan Kauflin. You were one of the many people that advised me and helped me in interacting with Redeemer Arlington. But I find it stunning if David Mayo’s false accusation happened that Terry is the one going around trying to exonerate his name. After all its like I wrote about recently…when I endured a false accusation I poured my effort and heart into pushing back. I had to as my reputation, employment, future employment, and ability to earn income were threatened. When I first heard of Terry Mayos scheming it ate at me as to why she is acting the way that she does. Why is Terry speaking out and not David Mayo? Well it dawned upon me the other day before I wrote this post that if the false accusation is legitimate then it would be David Mayo fighting to exonerate his name. Actually the more I consider this Pam, I think that Covenant Life Church probably coached and arranged to have Terry Mayo call up the Kojo show. Her efforts I believe are not her own, instead as a tool I believe that Terry is being coached and led to act this way. Remember in the ESV (Eagle Standard Version) Philippians 4:13 says “with Kool Aid all things are possible.” So I want to encourage you to cast off Charlotte and Terry’s opposition and plunge forward. I say this as a man who endured a false accusation of which you know about as we talked about it in the past. You helped me Pam, during that time of my life and for that I say thank you.

Pam I firmly believe that Covenant Life Church doesn’t get it. They have a massive problem on their hands, and there is story after story that pours out of CLC. How many destroyed and shattered lives does it take before Mark Mitchell and others “get it?” How many children need to be raped before Covenant Life understands the severity of the problem? How many children need to be made to force to forgive their molester? Like I said above, when I was clashing with Andrew White I told him that there is no way in hell that what happened with Renee was the only incident. He assured me that it was. I dissed and ignored it because we are talking about cultural problems which show how sick Covenant Life and Sovereign Grace is. The system is systemically and systematically flawed!  The Sovereign Grace system is sick! You know in the end Pam, despite Covenant Life Church claiming to have a high value of scripture…their policy on opposing the statute of limitation laws, discouraging people to go to the police and claiming they have “robust” measures shows that they don’t respect the Bible in the end. With verses and policies derived off Romans 13 about following the law and respect of authorities in the end Sovereign Grace has never followed scripture to begin with. Can I just call them out and say that? Pam its my hope that that the statute of limitation laws are changed and that the lawsuit will resume against Covenant Life Church. The only way things will change is when there are million dollar settlements and organizations are tattering on bankruptcy. When the organization’s existence is threatened that is what makes things move. That’s what its took for the Roman Catholic church to change its rules and that is what it will take for Covenant Life and other former Sovereign Grace churches to change. If Mark Mitchell, who by the way I have named the “Church Lady of Covenant Life” here at The Wondering Eagle ever finds himself one day working at McDonalds, I wonder if the deep fryer breaks if he will say that Satan is attacking the McDonald’s restaurant. 😛 But its my sincere hope that the laws will be changed and the lawsuit resumed against Covenant Life Church. That is a story I want to write about and if it happens I will have no problem attending CLC and after the service asking Mark Mitchell if he has a comment.

So this is my urgent plea to you from the depths of my heart. Please finish the job! Change the statute of limitation laws and let’s have a “Gospel Centered Lawsuit” take aim again at Covenant Life Church. Let’s do the right thing to spare other families from what your family endured. Let’s hold Covenant Life and its pastors accountable and let’s make sure that this doesn’t happen to one more child. If Covenant Life Church cannot change then the best way God could be glorified is to drive a “Gospel Centered Bulldozer” through the lobby and turn the church into a “Gospel Centered Parking Lot.” But I am asking you and others to finish the job and to hold Covenant Life Church and C.J. Mahaney accountable. Mahaney is a fraud, a malcontent and to have him preaching at T4G is like having serial killer Ted Bundy running eHarmony or serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer who was infamous for cannibalism having a cooking show on the Food network. But please for the sake of the church, let’s finish the job. Let’s hold C.J. Mahaney and Covenant Life Church accountable. Sovereign Grace slithered out of hell, and its to hell where it needs to go. It is that evil Pam.

Pam, or should I say “Deborah” good luck in Louisville and good luck in protesting I am with you in spirit, and heart. One a side note it would be cool if you could somehow sneak in the production booth and show the clip from Sptolight instead. Its the famous clip from below. I want to say thanks for your friendship. Your heart is golden and beautiful. The church is lucky to have you, and like I said I see you as a modern day Deborah. The new Cannanites are those who are corrupt who threaten the Christian faith by their corruption. And that is the camp I would put C.J. Mahaney and his enables such as Al Mohler and Mark Dever. On Wednesday Pam I hope to get off an open letter to Mark Dever and ask him a lot of hard questions. With that let me close by saying I love you big sis! Good luck!

With deep admiration,

David Bonner

8 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Pam Palmer a Modern Day Deborah

  1. The corruption seen in some forms of Christianity is not just in some forms of Christianity. I’ve seen what you seen in the assemblies, in Calvary chapels, in Baptist churches and the new reformed churches. we all know about the corruption within the Catholic churches.
    It’s as if there is no HS to regulate and influence the behaviour and characters of the leadership of the church regardless of denominational brand.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve heard of the Moses Model, I think that is the structure Calvary Chapel uses. That said, I am not too familiar with it. I heard that CC had issues so I avoid them. What has been your experience? Can you explain some of the effects KIA?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. While I’m for changing the statute of limitations for all future cases, it is my understanding that legally, even if the law changes, it can’t be retroactively applied to previous cases. So if the statute of limitations has *already* lapsed in a given case, it can’t be retroactively resurrected, so to speak.

    So while it’s a good idea to change the law for *future* cases, sadly, it most likely won’t help in this case.

    Liked by 2 people

    • And T4G and SGM get to wipe their mouths and proclaim “I Have Not Sinned.”
      “I. WIN.”
      (HUMBLY, of course — chuckle chuckle.)

      Liked by 1 person

    • UK law is similar regarding statutes of limitations. The limitations are there for a reason, namely to ensure a defendant can still get a fair and reasonable trial. After a significant number of years have elapsed, this becomes increasingly difficult, and eventually next to impossible. Hence a change to the law cannot be retrospective.

      It might be that vicitms will have to content themselves with the coming day of judgment to receive justice, rather than rely on a lawsuit in this life. It’s not as though anything which has been done in the dark will not be subject to scrutiny and judgment by an omniscient Judge, no-one in the end gets away with anything.

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.