Evangelicals and Art: Dreamgirls

This weekend I am throwing up the music from the musical Dreamgirls. The music is by Henry Krieger. The musical is about show business aspirations and follows a trio from Chicago to stardom. It opened in December 1981 and won multiple awards and was later turned into a film a few years ago. The performance by Jennifer Holiday is considered by some to be the most memorable in Broadway history as I’ve read. If you only had time to listen to one song, my recommendation is Jennifer Holliday’s “And I am Telling You I’m Not Going.”

Jennifer Holliday  –  And I am Telling You I’m Not Going (Tony Performance)

Jennifer Holliday – And I am Telling You I’m Not Going

Jennifer Holliday and Cast – One Night Only

Jennifer Holliday – And I am Telling You I’m Not Going (Last Broadway Performance)

Ben Harney – Step into the Bad Side

Dreamgirls in Concert (Entire Recording)

Jennifer Hudson – And I am Telling You I’m not Going (Movie)

Eddie Murphy – Cadillac Car

Ben Harney – When I First Saw You

Sharon Leal, Beyoncé Knowles, and Anika Nori Rose –  Hard to Say Goodbye

One thought on “Evangelicals and Art: Dreamgirls

Comments are closed.