Evangelicals & Art: Handel’s Messiah & Some Christmas Music

This weekend I am going to throw up some seasonal music. It’s the time of year to really indulge in some great music. One of the beautiful things about the Christian faith is the legacy of music in western civilization. That goes from Handel’s Messiah to traditional English songs such as God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman. Today I want to throw up Handel’s Messiah. And yes I know the Hallelujah is for Easter, but I love it all year around.  🙂  The other music is from Michael W. Smith, Celine Dion, Josh Groban, Celtic Women, and a couple of traditional works as well.

As for Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer…well let me just say I used to sing that to my grandmother when I was a kid. That can’t be ignored!  Enjoy your weekend!

Crown College Cambridge – Complete Messiah

Royal Choral Society – Hallelujah

Handel (Messiah) – For Unto us a Child is Born

Messiah (Staged Version)

Michael W. Smith – Christmastime

Michael W. Smith – Son of God

Kings College Cambridge – Silent Night

Bing Crosby & Martha Mears – White Christmas

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen

Celine Dion – Oh Holy Night

Josh Groban – It Came Upon a Midnight Clear

Celtic Women – O Come All ye Faithful

Grandma Got Run Over by  a Reindeer

 

6 thoughts on “Evangelicals & Art: Handel’s Messiah & Some Christmas Music

  1. Great selections! Handel’s Messiah stands out as one of the most inspired works ever. It’s my favorite and like you, I listen to it year-round.
    And to think he wrote it all in under 30 days!

    Thanks for the great music.
    Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used to listen to Dr Demento regularly for several years.
      Heard some… INTERESTING.. songs that way.

      And it’s contrast — from the heights of Handel’s Messiah to the sheer goofiness of Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer.

      Remember : “Satan fell by force of Gravity.”
      — C.S.Lewis, preface to Screwtape Letters (don’t remember who he was referencing)

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.