Thoughts Bouncing Around in my Head….

Some quick thoughts on church discipline, atheism, life, Dee Parsons, friendship,  and a few other things in life. Just a quick filler for a post I am still working on.

“Be at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man.”

Benjamin Franklin

How long, Lord, must I call for help,  but you do not listen?
Or cry out to you, “Violence!” but you do not save?
Why do you make me look at injustice? Why do you tolerate wrongdoing?
Destruction and violence are before me; there is strife, and conflict abounds.
Therefore the law is paralyzed, and justice never prevails.
The wicked hem in the righteous, so that justice is perverted.

Habakkuk 1:2-4 NIV

***

There is a discernment quiz here for you to look at and analyze. It is from the membership page of a local Evangelical Free Church in the D.C. area called Ambassador Bible Church. How would you analyze their membership requirements? By practicing your discernment, would you get involved in Ambassador?

***

I have a couple of posts in the works that I have been working on, and it is taking more time than I anticipated. So with that I wanted to jot down some thoughts and put up something quickly. I think you may realize that I love reading Matt Redmond’s blog and The Phoenix Preacher’s as well. Its fall… I love this time of year…the seasons changing color, the trees alive and the changing of weather. You feel it in the cold air starting to make itself known and the days becoming short. You find condensation on your car window in the morning, and the leaves all over the walkway or sidewalk.  I can’t believe the World Series is over…it seems like yesterday when baseball had its first game. And if I know Scott as a KC Royals fan, he’s probably a happy guy right now! 😀 I have a number of thoughts in my head that I wanted to put down on paper, or cyber space.

  • I wish there was a way we could clone Dee Parsons. People like her are invaluable and how much healthier would the church be if every congregation had a few Dee’s in it?
  • I understand when an atheist emails me why they have left the Christian faith. I can often nod my head and relate to what they explain to me. There are many difficult aspects of faith, and the answers are hard, and in some cases Christianity doesn’t provide the best answers. Faith is hard, it’s messy and many Christians don’t want to hear that it’s difficult.
  • Each religious system has its pluses and minuses. No system is perfect and each system has its flaws.
  • Eagle is wondering what would happen if Neo-Calvinists or other Evangelicals in the United States faced church discipline for gluttony, or inappropriate church discipline.  Would church discipline be as popular if Jonathan Leeman or Mark Dever were ever disciplined?
  • I get indigestion at the thought CJ Mahaney preaching again at T4G. Next I am going to learn that Bernie Madoff is handling finances for the local PTA in the community where I live.
  • Speaking of which when will CJ Mahaney ever face church discipline for allegedly covering up child sex abuse or his alleged blackmail of Larry Tomczak? I wonder if CJ Mahaney has Spotlight on his list of movies to see? Is Spotlight “Gospel Centered?”
  • I love all the people who email me. Each one is precious and each one means a lot to me. I wish they were all local. This blog has given birth to friendships that I will appreciate in the course of time.
  • Molly Fitch needs to be re-united with her children. The situation at Calvary Temple so troubles me it bothers me that many people in the Christian community of the D.C. area are silent on the situation.
  • Why is church so hard and complicated? Why is it so torn by strife and fads? I wish the situation were truly different.
  • I wish there could be some good theological authors I could read who are not tainted by the corruption in Neo-Calvinism or who are not emergent, and are more solid. I avoid Christian book stores because of how depressing they can be. I also want to consume a few atheist books.
  • Speaking of which I’ll take 10 Philip Yanceys over 1 John Piper any day. The church needs more Yanceys.
  • The saddest and greatest tragedy about the Neo-Calvinist scandals is that they are hurting themselves and their cause in the end and they don’t realize it at all. Or they won’t listen to it be described. They have turned away and turned off many people. I actually would be open to learning from them and having long discussions. But I am not going to sign my life away to a membership covenant with someone drunk on Kool-Aid talking about church discipline while their leaders are exempt. Its Christianity…its not an Indian caste system.
  • By my 40th year I have gone through more religions in my lifetime than most people go through in three.
  • Time is pressing and the topics overwhelming. I could turn this into a pure skeptic and atheism blog or a blog about fundamentalism or problems in evangelicalism. I would like to straddle all three areas and write on everything.
  • Washington, D.C. can be the loneliest place to live. I need to write an essay on this topic.
  • This post on Neo-Calvinist membership covenants and the Berlin Wall is my personal favorite at this blog. Can you tell that I have a grad degree in history by reading this?
  • I’m grateful for all the friends I have from Dee Parsons and Deb Martin, to Scott Van Swenigan, Joe Blow, Greg Marshall, James Crestwood, to Danny Risch. None of them are taken for granted. My life is considerably blessed because of them. Where would my life be without them?
  • I still don’t know why Andrew White is so afraid of me. It baffles my mind, and it hurts. I wonder if this is what some people write about at SGM survivors in terms of emotional pain? I still pray for him.
  • Recently I misplaced a Bible and read some scripture on my Android and its just not the same.
  • I love the intellect and wisdom of atheists. I find them exceptionally sharp, witty, and engaging. I feel drawn to atheism still today.
  • I wish I could give my grandmother in Michigan, Gail a hug. I love her kind email notes over the past year! 🙂
  • If anyone out there wants to attend the Reason Rally in 2015 at the Lincoln Memorial I would love to go with you. I am probably the most open evangelical Christian out there willing to hang out there. After all how many Christians have you heard of you drive to church from time to time and listen to past talks by Christopher Hitchens, or the Thinking Atheist today?
  • At the very bottom of this post I will close out with Chasing Cars from Snow Patrol. That will be stuck in your noodle for a long time! 😛
  • The new James Bond is almost out. I can’t wait! I watched a bunch of trailers the other day on Youtube and decided to insert them in this post and close it out. I would like to see all of them. I love James Bond so Spectre is a must. Spotlight is a must see as well, I hope the evangelical world will watch it. May everyone be uncomfortable in watching it. The Finest Hours is about the most famous rescue in United States Coast Guard History. I love history and am salivating at seeing it. My All American is a promising sports drama. I cried when I watched Remember the Titans and will shed a tear for this upcoming movie. The player this movie is about inspired Richard Nixon’s war on cancer. Pumped about another Star Wars

2 thoughts on “Thoughts Bouncing Around in my Head….

    • Lori, I’ve heard good things about Martin Lloyd Jones. Someone earlier this year was telling me about his book “Spiritual Depression” and said it was really helpful and good. He is someone I should look into.

      Like

Comments are closed.