Evangelicals and Art: Aaron Copland

 

This holiday weekend I want to throw up some Aaron Copland. This is great stuff, and if you become addicted to it like me, then I have been successful. I won’t spend much time on Aaron Copland. He’s known for composition, teaching, writing, and conducting. I think he’s probably one of the best known American composers. Would you agree? Disagree? Most of what he is known for was written in the 1930’s and 1940’s. His music evokes images of the pioneer spirit, and American landscape. He’s written ballets and orchestral music as well as film soundtracks. That said if you want to read more you can do so here. My advice…turn up those speakers, if your windows aren’t shaking as you’re playing Fanfare for the Common Man its not loud enough. Love you guys have a great Labor Day!  

Third Symphony

Lincoln Portrait

Fanfare for the Common Man

Appalachian Spring

Rodeo “Hoe Down”

Billy the Kid

Fanfare at the 9-11 Museum

5 thoughts on “Evangelicals and Art: Aaron Copland

Comments are closed.