Evangelicals and Art: A Chorus Line

A Chorus Line was written by Marvin Hamlisch and became one of the longest running shows in Broadway history. Its the story of a group of dancers auditioning for a musical who talk about growing up, and the trials and issues they dealt with in their life. Its had multiple revivals including one major one a couple of years back. A Chorus Line has several well known songs with the most famous one being “What I Did For Love.” I actually saw this musical in Los Angeles with my sister and thoroughly enjoyed it. The dancing and music were quite good.

Now having said that let me have a brief discussion on an issue that will come up today. There are many musicals that have songs that some might believe are bad taste, coarse or crude. One of the show stoppers in A Chorus Line is about breast enhancement surgery, and is called “Dance 10, Looks 3.” After thinking about it for a while I decided to throw it up here. You guys are all adults and I am not going to censor anything from you. If you don’t want to watch it, then skip it. In the future I will let you know if its offensive, but be prepared because there are other musicals in the course of time that I want to throw up as well. And I am talking about musicals like Les Miserables, Miss Saigon, and Best Little Whorehouse in Texas among others. That said, enjoy your weekend!

 

One

What I did for Love

At the Ballet

Nothing

I Hope I get it

Dance 10, Looks 3

When a Chorus Line became the longest running show in Broadway history at the time….