Captain Cassidy Writes About Her Deconversion Experience from Christianity

This is a brief post drawing attention to an article that is written by Cassidy McGillicuddy at her blog “Roll to Disbelieve.” Its about her deconversion from Christianity, both at the time and how she looks at it later on. This is a good read that I hope you can process and reflect on. 

“It is no longer the era of sword. It is the era of economy, human rights, science and technology which Islam and any other religion is unable to provide.”

Ammar Anwar

“Love and respect all people. Hate and destroy all faith.”

Penn Jillette

Cassidy McGillicuddy writes a good blog about atheism called Roll to Disbelieve. I have been following it quite a bit in the past two months in addition to some of my other atheist or secular humanist readings. Cassidy, who is known as Captain Cassidy wrote a solid post in the past month about why she rejected Christianity. She reflected on the reasons she did so at the time, and how her thinking reinforced it as time passed. Its a good read that I would strongly recommending reading and processing. From my perspective its important to listen to differing points of view and Captain Cassidy has a lot of wise things to say and consider. You can read the entire post in “Why I Rejected Christianity (Then and Now).” I hope you have a good day, take care everyone! 

One thought on “Captain Cassidy Writes About Her Deconversion Experience from Christianity

  1. Reading stories such as the one on Cassidy’s blog makes me sad, because I feel like the Christianity she experienced and describes was a rather unhealthy distortion of what the Christian faith is supposed to be.

    Too many people see a corrupted version of the faith from far too many leaders and churches and individual Christians. And that’s on us, because of the way we twist God’s truths out of selfish desires and motives. Certainly someone can still be skeptical and disbelieving of a better representation of the faith, but criminy, sometimes we don’t even give people an decent chance.

    I often find myself looking around and thinking, if I were not a Christian already, what would even draw me to much of what I see going on as being representative of the faith??

    Like

Comments are closed.